A night filled with fun can quickly turn to one full of angst when Illinois drivers are stopped on suspicion of drunk driving. Even if it is your first DUI arrest, you could face serious penalties with the potential for lasting consequences. We at the law office of Nick Kujawa understand the possible repercussions of drunk driving arrests and have helped many prepare solid defenses aimed at mitigating the impact of their arrests on their personal and professional lives.
According to the Illinois Secretary of State, first-time DUI arrests are charged as Class A misdemeanors. If you are convicted of or plead guilty to this offense, you may face fines of up to $2,500. For a first-time offense, you will lose your driving privileges for one year, provided you are over the legal drinking age of 21-years-old. Before your driving privileges are restored, you must complete an alcohol evaluation and an alcohol education course or treatment program. Additionally, you could be sentenced to a maximum of one year in prison.
Even after you have paid your fines and served your time, you may continue to experience consequences as the result of your drunk driving arrest. For three years after your arrest, you are required to carry high-risk auto insurance coverage. Further, your conviction is a permanent part of your driving record.
The penalties you may face if convicted of a first-time DUI charge are enhanced under certain circumstances, such as if you had a child under the age of 16-years-old in your vehicle at the time of your arrest or if you were stopped while driving the wrong way. More information on the potential consequences of drunk driving arrests is available on our website.